CPA Exam Prep Course Reviews

See what other exam takers are saying about prep materials. While you’re here, pay the advice forward by voicing your opinion and rating any courses/products you’ve used.

showing: BECKER REVIEW – -

 

COURSE/PRODUCT

Becker Review – -

  • Format: Online, DVD/CD, Book/Print Material, Classroom
  • State(s): Alabama, Alaska, American Samoa, Arizona, Arkansas, California, Colorado, Connecticut, Delaware, District of Columbia, Florida, Georgia, Guam, Hawaii, Idaho, Illinois, Indiana, Iowa, Kansas, Kentucky, Louisiana, Maine, Maryland, Massachusetts, Michigan, Minnesota, Mississippi, Missouri, Montana, Nebraska, Nevada, New Hampshire, New Jersey, New Mexico, New York, North Carolina, North Dakota, Northern Mariana Islands, Ohio, Oklahoma, Oregon, Puerto Rico, Rhode Island, South Carolina, South Dakota, Tennessee, Texas, U.S. Virgin Islands, Utah, Vermont, Virginia, Washington, West Virginia, Wisconsin, Wyoming
  • Average Cost: $3,001
  • Average Rating: 3 stars
  • Textbook: Online, DVD/CD, Book/Print Material
  • Technical Support: 877-784-1997
  • Accounting Support: 877-272-3926
  • Online Tutorial: Yes
 

Overview:

The Becker Review consists of 4 courses:

Financial Accounting and Reporting (FAR)

Auditing and Attestation (AUDIT)

Regulation (REG)

Business Enviroment and Concepts (BEC)

These courses are offered by the Keller Graduate School of Management. Each course is structured similar to each section of the actual Uniform CPA Exam.

Refund Policy:

Not specified

Repeat Policy:

Not specified

Access Limitations:

Not specified

 

REVIEWS

Write a review
 

Jason G on February 19, 2018 at 9:02PM said:

 

Becker is the most expensive course on the market so I expected their study materials to be hands down the best, however that wasn't the case. They've recently updated their software interface so it's much more user friendly, but overall the course seemed to leave me wanting more features and a more organized and integrated approach to studying.

Many people are able to get their work to purchase their Becker course for them because they offer deep discounts to big accounting firms, however if this doesn't include you I would at least download a few other course free trials to compare and see for yourself before shelling out $4k. Too read my detailed review of Becker CPA check out: cpaexamguy.com

User rating: 3

Bryan K. on September 18, 2017 at 4:09PM said:

 

I personally used Becker CPA Review when I was taking the CPA exam and only passed 2 sections with it. The reason I don't recommend them is because I had some significant issues with it. First, they require you to complete all of the video lectures. I don't learn well from watching video lectures or highlighting the textbook. I prefer to teach myself by taking multiple choice questions and reviewing the explanations and then using the lectures only as needed. Second, they don't give you unlimited access to their software and then force you to pay an exorbitant fee to renew. I would rather my CPA review course stand behind their product and guarantee I pass instead of nickel and diming me. Bottom line, if you are someone who LOVES video lectures and has a firm to cover your cost then go all in on Becker, if not I would keep researching courses like CPAexcel, Roger or Gleim CPA review which offer equal if not better features at half the cost. This resource will help you compare - www.cpaexamguide.com

User rating: 3

Brandon V on May 25, 2017 at 8:05PM said:

 

I used Becker CPA exam review and I was able to pass in under 12 months. I did fail 1 part (REG) during the process, but overall the Becker product delivered. I will say that I had to put an incredible amount of time into studying. The approach of watching lecture videos, reading the study guides, working practice problems, and repeating is a lengthy one to say the least. However, if you devote the time, then you should see success.

Most of the CPA exam review courses are the same from a content perspective. It's the way they deliver the content that differentiates them. Becker CPA review, in my opinion, has great instructors that you'll watch in the lecture videos. There are definitely more energetic CPA review course instructors out there, but there are also just as many that are pretty boring to watch. That's why it's important to see what experts have to say about all of the courses before you make your decision.

I performed a full detailed review of Becker CPA review courses and other industry leaders at www.cpaexamsuccess.com. Check out those reviews and best of luck on your future CPA exam!

User rating: 5

Brandon G on April 7, 2017 at 1:04PM said:

 

Becker is, by and large, an overrated course. Here are my major complaints:

1. The live lectures are often taught by professors who don't care and just want to make a couple extra bucks. Really boring and not worth it for the live experience.

2. Their highlighting method in the book during the lectures does nothing more than keep you awake. It doesn't help you remember anything. You still have to go back and re-memorize the facts.

3. I found many discrepancies between the materials and the MCQ solutions. This can be frustrating.

Here's a full review of the course and my criticisms that I wrote on my blog.

www.ais-cpa.com

Don't get me wrong. Becker is a good course, it's just super expensive. I wouldn't be as harsh if it didn't cost more than every course on the market. I would only recommend it for people who don't have to pay for it.

User rating: 2

Lauren W on February 7, 2017 at 9:02AM said:

 

Becker is not great, and its highly overrated.

1. They contradict what they say in the book with the answer explanations for MCQ and TBS

2. They are terrible are preparing you for reg. I could not beleive the content in R6-R8. They could not give you the main points

3. They are terrible in sections A3 and A4 of audit. It seems like they don't even understand the controls for transaction cycles. In addition, they don't explain in A4 what effect certain ratios have on accounts and other ratios, which is extremely important.

4. The flash cards are pointless. You are way better off making your own.

5. The paper in the books is extremely thin. I would underline something in pencil and flip the page over and you could see the pencil markets which was extremely annoying.

I wish I would have done more research into other study materials.

User rating: 2

Rogenie H. on August 17, 2015 at 8:08PM said:

 

Horrible way to review if you need support/motivation from other reviewers. On top of that the cost is outrageous and you better be not doing anything else other than review for the whole year or you don't get no second chance. I do not recommend at all. There are other better far cheaper reviewers out there.

User rating: 1

Safiya A on July 8, 2015 at 2:07AM said:

 

I choose the full package of: live classes + books + online access with videos and MCQ & Sim practice. I especially LOVE their book because it's very comprehensive. Compared to others like Roger's CRAM CPA review and MDS CPA review, this was by far the best one. It has explanations and examples with summarized charts at the end of the chapter to round up your knowledge of the topic. Also, the questions that are on the online portal (can also be accessed via a download to a computer or Iphone) are the same as Roger's & MDS because they're all released from the AICPA. The lectures are accessible offline when downloaded to the computer or the Iphone. The cost here in my country for all parts is US $4,620.

User rating: 5

Paul M. on June 4, 2015 at 4:06PM said:

 

Becker's course adequately prepared me for the exams. The lectures are precise and only touches exactly what you need to know in order to pass the exams. The longest i spend studying for any exam was 3 months only because I missed an exam window. For all the other lectures my preparation using "only" Becker averaged 5 weeks.

User rating: 5

Mary R. on September 17, 2013 at 3:09PM said:

 

I really don't like the Becker review material. I received it as a prize for an accounting quiz while in college. I find that it is overwhelming and hard to stay focus. After working 8 hours a day, it is so hard to feel like I ever get any where with the material. The lectures are boring and the constant comments by the Peter and Tim are enough to make you want to bang your head against the wall. When you get problems wrong in the mcq the explanations are really hard to follow. Also there is no way anyone could possible remember all of their mnemonics, there is one for everything. They also seem to nickle and dime you for everything. Allowing only 18 months for use of the software, extra questions on the far section and the expense of the flash cards is ridiculous. I have taken 5 sections and I have not passed one. I would not recommend this to anyone who has a short attention span and has trouble following lectures.

User rating: 1

Leisa S. on December 6, 2012 at 3:12PM said:

 

I used Wiley, Bisk and finally the Becker. Becker made all the difference in my scores. If you follow the guidelines that Becker outlines and commit to the program you WILL PASS.

Hands down the best review course that I used!

Good Luck!

P.S. I worked for McGladrey and we got a huge group discount and the firm actually paid the $1,700 for me. Check to see if they offer a discount for your firm!

User rating: 5

PAGE 1 of 2

Next page
 

You are not logged in.

 

Please note: the AICPA does not publish examination review materials or endorse any specific review method or course. To obtain advice on whether to take a review course, which course to take, or which materials to buy, speak to faculty members or colleagues. Such recommendations are not available from the AICPA.

2018-19 AICPA Legacy Scholarships
 

 AICPA Legacy Scholarships: Applications deadline March 1 @ 3 pm ET

:
:
:
days
hours
minutes
seconds
» Apply here